Skip to main content

Logo for N.C. Cooperative Extension N.C. Cooperative Extension Homepage

Service Awards Program

NC State University values its people and strives to recognize their commitment and contributions to communities across North Carolina whenever possible. NC State’s Service Awards Program celebrates university employees for their years of service and dedication to the university and the State of North Carolina.

The program honors length-of-service milestones in increments of five years through retirement (e.g. 5 years, 10 years, 15 years, etc.). Learn more about NC State’s Service Awards Program.

For 2016, the university honored 93 NC State Extension employees for service milestones ranging from 5 to 40 years.

Please find below a full list of Extension’s 2016 Service Award Honorees and a video message from Dr. Rich Bonanno, NC State Extension director.

Annually, the university hosts a Service Awards Breakfast to recognize those who have achieved these milestones. After the breakfast, attendees receive a special gift to commemorate their service.

View Photos from the Event

2016 Extension Service Awards Program

2016 marked the first year that Extension was incorporated into the NC State program; Extension coordinated and hosted an independent service recognition program for its employees prior to this year.

Who is eligible for recognition and awards?

  • Eligible SHRA employees are recognized for their total service to the State of North Carolina.
  • Eligible EHRA employees are recognized only for their service at NC State University.


  • Tenured & tenure-track faculty in the JCAT 200 series
  • Non-tenure-track faculty in the JCAT 200 series, including librarians and Extension agents with NTT faculty status
  • Service in ‘non-permanent’ positions such as postdoc, CVM house officer, temp, grad assistant or student worker roles do not count toward service requirement
  • Rehired retirees

Determining eligibility

Prior to each calendar year, HR identifies NC State University employees who may be eligible for service recognition based on their years of service with the university and/or the state, not just Extension, as applicable. Service awards are given the year following the anniversary date; if one’s anniversary date was in January 2017, for example, they would be recognized during the 2018 event.

2016 Service Award Honorees – NC State Extension

40 Years
Nancy H. Abasiekong
Sandra Jeanne Kanupp
Janet D. Prevatte

35 Years
Adrian L. Gaskins

30 Years
Robbie W. Bridgers
Kenneth H. Ellzey
John Stephen Greer
Joanne Miller Gryder
Carl A. Maytac
Lindsay E. Rogers
Gregory Brian Traywick

20 Years
Mary W. Arnaudin
Shelia Marie Beasley
Catherine Angle Brown
Denise Lilly Bunch
Norma Jean Chrisawn
Tracy Whisnant Davis
April B. Dillon
Tyrone Lawrence Fisher
Timothy Ross Hambrick
Tanya Meads Heath
Lethia Robinson Lee
Jeannie Misenhiemer Leonard
Matthew Charles Martin
Deborah Bowers McGiffin
Paul G. McKenzie
Lear O. Mills
Derek S. Morris
Nancy Ruth Olsen
Ellen Hendrix Owens
Diana Coffee Rashash
Hazel Ann Simmons
Lori Lucas Stroud

15 Years
Cintia Maria Aguilar
Amy Lynn Albertson
Amy S. Bowman
Richard J. Boylan Jr.
Julie Stine Campbell
Rebecca S. Coleman
James Calvin Cowden
Seydel Cropps
Leeann Clark Crump
Judith M. D’Eredita
Charlotte Dawson Glen
Michele Irene Hamm
Suzanne Marie Hugus
Horace Walton Johnson
Colby S. Lambert
Teresa B. Morris
Sara Lilley Phelps
Jo Lorraine Simpson
Nathan Stuart Snodgrass
Brenda G. Talton

10 Years
Jim R. Burke
Carol Yvonne Capel
Melanie Lynn Cashion
Rebecca B. Castello
Aimee Angeles Colf
Mary K. Davis
Toi Nichelle Degree
Autumn Hope Guin
Wanda Hargrove
Pamela Faulkner Jones
Tracy Michelle LeCompte
Ben MacNeill
Carl Thomas Mitchell
Jeana Lynn Myers
Kelly Clark Nordby
Stephanie Mae Parker-Helmkamp
William E. Strader
Jessica Elizabeth Strickland

5 Years
Taneisha Shavonne Armstrong
Jonathan Ryan Baros
Shannon Brooks
Andrew R. Burlingham
Karie Beth Cloninger
Sarah Harrelson Delap
Brady Carlton Edwards
Jessica Smith Harris
Kathryn Lea Hepler
Olivia L. Jones
Ryan Patrick Kelly
Charmae Janel Kendall
Lauren Brown Langley
Angie Faulkner Lawrence
Duncan McGougan Malloy
Cynthia Deloris McQueen
Katie Young Moore
Jessica Ann Morgan
Carlos Jorge Moses
Lisa M. Rayburn
James Roy Thagard Jr.
Bobbie Bridges Willard

Submitting Feedback

Did you find an error on the page? Was the list of honorees inaccurate? Do you think that you or someone else was omitted? If so, please take a moment to share your feedback using this online form.

Slides for Digital Monitors

Download a .zip folder with slides for use on local Extension office digital monitors.